- The right to visit and inspect your property. Your tenant does not have the right to bar you from accessing the real estate that you own. The law requires only that you visit at reasonable times and with reasonable notice. Absent an emergency, it is best to give notice of a visit at least 24 hours in advance. Notice of an inspection can be given by telephone, voice mail, text or e-mail.
Serving Waukegan, Libertyville, Lake County, Gurnee & nearby areas of Illinois
The most well-known new Illinois law is the one making recreational, non-medicinal use of marijuana legal. There are still restrictions on where you can acquire marijuana and on where it can be smoked. Also, it is still a violation of federal law to use marijuana despite Illinois laws. On the plus side, many people with past misdemeanor marijuana related convictions are having their records expunged.
Minimum wage will jump from $8.25 to $9.25 statewide.
Here at the Law Offices of Thaddeus M. Bond, Jr. & Associates, P.C., our two attorneys have nearly 60 years combined experience practicing in Lake County, IL. Our title insurance officer and escrow closer has over 30 years experience as well. How does this help our clients?
Legal matters involve sensitive and sometimes uncomfortable issues. You have to know that you can trust your attorney and that the information you provide will not be disclosed to the wrong people and will not be used to your detriment. How can you find out if you can trust the lawyer that you are considering hiring?
Wondering what it costs to evict a tenant in Lake County, Illinois? Here is our current fee structure:
- $500 flat fee plus costs for an uncontested case. $800 flat fee plus costs if the tenant requests and is granted a trial or files a motion to vacate a default judgment.
- Costs average $400-$800 and cover such things as the court filing fee, service of process fees and/or the costs to have the sheriff schedule and attend an eviction.
In order to win an eviction case, you need to convince a judge that the occupant of the property no longer has the right to be there, either because of non-payment of rent or violation of other lease terms. Once you prove to the court that a proper pre-lawsuit notice was served and the tenant still did not leave, you will get an order telling the tenant to vacate. If the tenant still does not leave, you must hire the county sheriff to enforce the court order.
In a quest for positive press coverage, our sheriff's office continues to ignore its responsibilities. Judges must follow the law when entering orders determining when someone must leave a property when they fail to pay what they owe. The sheriff has no right to disregard a court order or disregard a judge's determination of when someone must leave.
First, get medical attention to those who may need it.
Next, call the authorities.
Then, you should get as much information as possible from the other driver and occupants, including:
- Contact information (address, cell phone number(s), email addresses)
- Driver license information (state of issuance and license number)
- Vehicle information (make and model)
- Insurance information (name of company, phone number and policy number)
You should also get the names and contact information of any witnesses.
This spring has brought persistent and record breaking rainfalls to northeast Illinois. We have been contacted quite a bit lately about people experiencing water damage and flooding issues in recently purchased homes. We are frequently asked when a seller can be held liable for these problems.