Serving Waukegan, Libertyville, Lake County, Gurnee & nearby areas of Illinois

The divorce laws of the State of Illinois are fairly traditional, and therefore do not allow for a simple no-fault dissolution in most cases. You are only able to pursue what is known as a “Joint Simplified Dissolution” of your marriage if all of the following are true:

  • Neither person is economically dependent on the other

  • Irreconcilable differences exist between the parties

  • Either party is a resident of Illinois for at least 90 days

  • You and your spouse have no children, either by birth/pregnancy or adoption

  • You have been married for less than 8 years

  • Neither of you has interest in real property

  • Both parties waive their right to Alimony or maintenance

  • The total fair market value of all marital property is less than $10,000, the parties’ combined gross income is less than $35,000, and neither party has a gross annualized income from all sources in excess of $20,000

  • Both parties have provided one another with full disclosure of all assets and tax returns for all years of the marriage

    If all the above are met, you may file a joint petition with the court, along with a written agreement that divides all assets valued at $100 or more as well as all debts and liabilities.

    Otherwise, you must participate in proceedings through the divorce court. In Illinois, a judge, not a jury, hears these court proceedings.